wh078 Akashic Crow’s Nest – Hawk of an Uncanny Nest

Akashic Crow's Nest - Hawk of an Uncanny Nest

Akashic Crow’s Nest’s first regular album release of 2007 continues ACN’s adventures in ambient sound generated from images. The tracks in “Hawk of an Uncanny Nest” explore different mythic ideas of the otherworld. The sound spaces themselves are sculpted to create soothing and transporting experiences for the listener.

  • 01 Antikythera pt 1
  • 02 Limbus Fatuorum
  • 03 Ophiuchus
  • 04 Mournival
  • 05 Telesterion
  • 06 Onion Pennies
  • 07 Manitou
  • 08 Limbus Puerorum
  • 09 Aladdin’s Window
  • 10 The Serpent’s Thumb
  • 11 Antikythera pt 2

The recordings of Akashic Crow’s Nest are created by first making a very long thin picture file that functions much like a piano roll, which is then fed into a software synthesizer which reads the picture from left to right, pixel by pixel, and translates the values into tones, adding variables such as loudness and panning based on information in the picture. The output is then treated to various digital effects such as delays and compression to give the final pieces a warmer, ambient quality.

All tracks recorded and produced by CP McDill
copyright 2007 under a Creative Commons license by-nc-nd 2.5

Visit the download page to stream or download the album for free.

Leave a Reply