wh069 Mika Bjorklund – Gunkanjima


Sound artist Mika Bjorklund’s latest project is a journey by evocation to the abandoned island city of Gunkanjima, which for a while during the 20th Century contained a heavily populated mining settlement. This desolate place still has its apartment towers, factories, schools and other building intact but crumbling.

Through drones, musique concrete and other idioms of electronic music, Mika guides us through its resonant passageways.

  1. Birds in Fog
  2. City of Dust
  3. Skeletal Structures
  4. Still
  5. Sound of Solitude
  6. Departure

Previous releases by Mika Bjorklund on Webbed Hand Records includes Risen (wh066) and Nocturne (wh054).

Recorded and Produced by Mika Bjorklund, 2005.

Visit the Download page to stream or download this album.

6 thoughts on “wh069 Mika Bjorklund – Gunkanjima

  1. Hi,
    As far as I know, these are the only works Mika has released under his own name. I recently Googled his name and found no indication of him promoting any other works. I’ve had no contact with him for several years and no longer have an his e-mail address so I have no way to ask him.

  2. Pingback: At Water’s Edge, 27 October 2012: The Journey | Rebekkah Hilgraves

  3. Pingback: At Water's Edge » Blog Archive » 27 October 2012: The Journey

Leave a Reply